Rajas Con Queso

The obsession with Rajas Con Queso began a few years ago when visiting a local Chuy’s.  My friends and I would go there just to eat this and one day, our waiter told us that it is no longer on the menu (we were grief-stricken for quite sometime).  A couple of years passed and I finally found a recipe for it.   It’s a close replica of the one we used to eat at Chuy’s!

Ingredients:

  • 2-3 Poblano peppers
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 1-2 garlic cloves, finely diced
  • 1 Jalapeno, seeded and finely chopped
  • 8 oz. sour cream (I prefer to use fat free or reduced fat)
  • 1 Vegetable bouillon cube or various spices: salt, cumin, paprika, garlic powder, onion powder, pepper (Spices should be according to taste – I didn’t measure it) :P
  • Handful of mozzarella cheese

1.  Roast the poblano peppers on a flame (gas stove) or oven until blackened.  Wrap in paper towel and put it in a plastic/brown bag for 10-15 minutes.
2.  Add onions and jalapeno in a saute pan (with a little oil or spray), stir for 2-3 minutes over medium-low heat, then add garlic.
3.  While the onions are cooking, peel the top layer of skin off of the peppers.  Slice into thin strips.
4.  When onions are soft, add peppers and stir for 3-5 minutes.
5.  Add sour cream and bouillon cube (or spices), stirring frequently.  When the mix is warm, add mozzarella cheese, stir until well blended

Serve with chips or warm tortillas
Excerpted from: www.neenyah.blogspot.com

This entry was posted in Appetizer, Dips, Mexican and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rajas Con Queso

  1. Xtex says:

    I used to wait tables at Chuy’s years ago when the Rajas first came out as a Green Chili Festival dish. After moving away from Texas, I tried to replicate this dish. I knew the Raja’s used cream cheese as the base but I couldn’t figure out the consistency. Then another former waiter told me he was pretty sure they used cream. The closest I’ve come to replicating it is your first four steps but not step five instead add cream cheese and crema mexicana (table cream if you can’t find it). I also add a bit of garlic powder when I’m sauteing the onions. I find it is also better the next day after all the flavors have infused into it. It’s not 100% there but it’s as close as I’ve been able to get.

Leave a Reply

